Trying something new: July 19

My husband usually has a good idea or 5 up his sleeve at any given time. When we were eating dinner before the Paul McCartney concert on Monday (OMG SO GOOD), he popped a little gem of an idea out for me. He said, “Jennifer, you love to thrift. Why don’t you blog more about your thrift scores? You can tell people how much you pay for your outfits. You’re really good at it!” So, we’ll give it a shot! 😁

  • Top and skirt: from a generous coworker’s closet clean-out. Cost: $0
  • Sandals: Teva, bought online in 2015. Cost: $44.27 with shipping. They’re still in good shape, so I will keep wearing them until they die.*
  • Necklace: gift from husband. Cost: $0 (our finances were not combined at that time, we were still dating 😁).*
  • Earrings: Premier, bought in a set 4-5 years ago. I maybe paid $20 for a set of 2 pairs, so $10 each. I wear these all the time, so they were a good investment.*
  • Fitbit: Ebay, a year and a half ago, $99.*

So, for items I get a lot of use out of, I try to embrace the mindset of “Buy it once.” A couple years ago, my husband pointed out that I bought bad shoes that hurt my feet every summer. That helped me break the habit. πŸ˜‚

To break it down a little bit more, my sandals have cost me approximately 6 cents a day, and they are not dead yet. I estimate that by the end, I can get that figure down to about 3.4 cents a day. The earrings, half a cent a day. The fitbit, 18 cents a day.

Total cost: $154, but that’s mostly staple items that get heavy rotation.

Leave a Reply

